The Mystery of Lord-Lord!

Revealed: the identity of those crying, “Lord, Lord” among us today!

Before you read this article, pray this prayer:

“Yahuweh, please open my eyes to your Truth! Forgive me of all my disobedience, and please remove any scales from my eyes.”

Now let us proceed.

There is a very mysterious but revealing phrase used in the Scriptures. It is the phrase, “Lord, Lord,” and is seen five times in the New Testament writings. These 5 passages uncover a mystery for us:

Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. (Matthew 7:21)
Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. (Matthew 7:22-23)
Afterward came also the other virgins, saying, Lord, Lord, open to us. But he answered and said, Verily I say unto you, I know you not. (Matthew 25:11-12)
And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say? (Luke 6:46)
When once the master of the house is risen up, and hath shut to the door, and ye begin to stand without, and to knock at the door, saying, Lord, Lord, open unto us; and he shall answer and say unto you, I know you not whence ye are… But he shall say, I tell you, I know you not whence ye are; depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity. (Luke 13:25, 27)

From the above passages, we can see that those who use the phrase, “Lord, Lord” are those who have prophesied, cast out devils, and done many wonderful works, all in the name of Yahushua. They are what we would call active Believers, who have all received of Yahushua’s Grace.

We also see some other features. The phrase, “Lord, Lord” occurs five times. The number ‘5’ is significant, and speaks of those who are identified as Bride-Candidates.

We also see that those who say, “Lord, Lord” are not allowed into the Kingdom, unless they do a certain thing, called the ‘will of my Father.’

We have further indication that these Believers are all Bride-Candidates. Although they were not allowed into the Kingdom, we are told that they were called virgins, a name that signifies an undefiled Righteousness imputed by Yahushua.

When we look at Matt 25:11, we can see more closely who these virgins are:

Afterward came also the other virgins, saying, Lord, Lord, open to us. (Matthew 25:11)

From closer inspection of Matt 25:1-13, we see the ‘other virgins’ are the Foolish virgins of Matt 25:8.

Now if we focus our attention to Luke 6:46, we may identify in detail exactly what made these virgins foolish:

And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say? (Luke 6:46)

We previously saw that there were five foolish virgins, and 5 uses of the phrase, “Lord, Lord.” We saw that these were Bride-Candidates, and partakers of Yahushua’s Grace. Now we see them being told two things: they call Yahushua ‘Lord,’ but they do not do the things which He says. Let’s find out what this passage means.

Things Yahushua Has Said

Let’s begin by looking at a few things Yahushua has said:

“Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth” (Exodus 20:4)
“Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.” (Exodus 20:8-11)
“Speak thou also unto the children of Israel, saying, Verily my sabbaths ye shall keep: for it is a sign between me and you throughout your generations; that ye may know that I am the LORD that doth sanctify you. Ye shall keep the sabbath therefore; for it is holy unto you: every one that defileth it shall surely be put to death: for whosoever doeth any work therein, that soul shall be cut off from among his people.” (Exodus 31:13-14)
“Speak unto the children of Israel, and say unto them, Concerning the feasts of the LORD, which ye shall proclaim to be holy convocations, even these are my feasts. Six days shall work be done: but the seventh day is the sabbath of rest, an holy convocation; ye shall do no work therein: it is the sabbath of the LORD in all your dwellings. These are the feasts of the LORD, even holy convocations, which ye shall proclaim in their seasons. In the fourteenth day of the first month at even is the LORD’S passover.” (Leviticus 23:2-5)
“Moreover also I gave them my sabbaths, to be a sign between me and them, that they might know that I am the LORD that sanctify them. But the house of Israel rebelled against me in the wilderness: they walked not in my statutes, and they despised my judgments, which if a man do, he shall even live in them; and my sabbaths they greatly polluted: then I said, I would pour out my fury upon them in the wilderness, to consume them.” (Ezekiel 20:12-13)
“Yet also I lifted up my hand unto them in the wilderness, that I would not bring them into the land which I had given them, flowing with milk and honey, which is the glory of all lands; Because they despised my judgments, and walked not in my statutes, but polluted my sabbaths: for their heart went after their idols.” (Ezekiel 20:15-16)
“I am the LORD your God; walk in my statutes, and keep my judgments, and do them; And hallow my sabbaths; and they shall be a sign between me and you, that ye may know that I am the LORD your God.” (Ezekiel 20:19-20)

What is this I hear? The words of a mortal man, who told you and others the above passages are not Yahushua’s (Jesus’) words? And you believed him, without reading the Scriptures for yourself?

Those who think the above passages were not spoken by Yahushua, do not yet ‘know’ who Yahushua really is. They do not yet have the ‘sign’ spoken of in the above Exodus 31 and Ezekiel 20 passages — the token, signal, and banner — that they ‘know’ Him, and that He knows them. Perhaps that is why Yahushua told us He will say the following words:

“And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you…” (Matthew 7:23a)
“Verily I say unto you, I know you not…” (Matthew 25:12)
“I tell you, I know you not whence ye are…” (Luke 13:27a)

He knows us, when we know Him. The above passages tell us we know Him by keeping His Feasts. Let’s look at a few more passages. The apostle John, who loved Yahushua, and was the closest to Him, tells us some revealing things.

What did John Say?

Here are a few things John tells us.

If ye love me, keep my commandments. (John 14:15)
He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me. (John 14:24)

So everything Yahushua spoke when on earth 2,000 years ago was Father’s Word. Everything Yahushua spoke to Moses, was also Father’s Word. The Tablets of the Ten commandments Yahushua wrote with His finger, and personally gave to Moses, was also Father’s Word. Those who love Yahushua will keep Yahushua’s Commandments (also Father’s Word) — from Genesis to Revelation.

Are there other Scriptures that tell us this? Well, let’s look at further confirmation from John. Notice the following:

Brethren, I write no new commandment unto you, but an old commandment which ye had from the beginning. The old commandment is the word which ye have heard from the beginning. (1 John 2:7)

The phrase ‘from the Beginning’ was (and is) a euphemism, a phrase that identifies the Book of Genesis, called B’-re’shiyth, which is taken from the first words of Genesis, and means ‘the Beginning.’ The phrase ‘from the beginning’ is used liberally in Scripture, and is used to identify the concept of ‘all of Scripture.’ John used the term ‘old commandment’ as a reminder to those few who were hoping Yahushua was coming to change, or otherwise do away with, the requirements of the Law (the ‘Torah’).

Here are two further passages that confirm what the phrase ‘from the beginning’ refers to:

For in those days shall be affliction, such as was not from the beginning of the creation which God created unto this time, neither shall be. (Mark 13:19)
And to make all men see what is the fellowship of the mystery, which from the beginning of the world hath been hid in God, who created all things by Jesus Christ: (Ephesians 3:9)

Here we see that ‘from the beginning’ refers to the account of creation, the first part of the Book of Genesis.

Who Can Abide?

Both Yahushua and John tell us further of those who say “Lord, Lord” but who do not know Him, by use of the word Abide:

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned. (John 15:4-6)
If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. (John 15:10)

Yahushua used the word ‘abide’ to express a great truth to us. The Greek word ‘meno,’ Strong’s number <3306>, is used 120 times, and means “remain, dwell, continue, endure.” Yahushua used the term ‘if’ to show that abiding is conditional, and is dependent on keeping His commandments. Now notice what John tells us:

Let that therefore abide<3306> in you, which ye have heard from the beginning. If that which ye have heard from the beginning shall remain<3306> in you, ye also shall continue<3306> in the Son, and in the Father. (1 John 2:24)

John tells us again that our abiding (dwelling, remaining, enduring) in Yahushua, and in the Father — is conditional, and is dependent on (the word) heard ‘from the beginning’ remaining in us!

It is only when we ‘abide, remain, dwell, continue, endure’ in keeping His Word ‘from the beginning,’ that we are truly keeping His commandments!

This passage tells us if we are not “DO-ers” of all the Words of Scripture, we will not continue<3306> in Him.

What does that tell us about those who claim the ‘Old’ Testament has been done away with? Most today are staking their eternal inheritance on a few words of a mortal man, who learned ‘Doctrines of Men’ in a seminary or Bible School. We must search the Scriptures for ourselves!

Still others tell us that these words are not for us, but for someone else, perhaps only for the Jews, or for some other era or age. These words are for all of Yahuweh’s precious people — both Jewish and Gentile — and are for today!

If we, as Gentiles, have not been grafted in as a branch, then these words are not for us. But if we have been grafted in to the commonwealth of “My People Israel,” as discussed in Romans 11 and Ephesians 2, then these words are for us.

The Foolish According to Yahushua

The Scriptures are brimming with passages that all point to the same issue. But the word of Yahushua here sums it up:

Then he said unto them, O fools<453>, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken… (Luke 24:25)

Here the word fool is the Greek word ‘anoetos,’ Strong’s number <453>, an adjective meaning ‘foolish.’

Here Yahushua tells us the ‘foolish’ virgins are those who are slow to believe (they are not “DO-ers” of) all that the Prophets have spoken. Yahushua is referring of course, to all the ‘Old’ Testament prophets, some of whom are quoted in the above passages.

For example, are we being “DO-ers” of Ezekiel 20:20? This verse is the only source of spiritual 20:20 vision!

Conclusion

We would do well to remember the phrase spoken by Yahushua, so that we might meditate on it while we search the Scriptures:

And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say? (Luke 6:46)

Let’s not forget who Yahushua is. Let’s remember He gave Father’s words to Moses. The things which Yahushua says are in the ‘Old’ Testament!

Let us begin to abide ‘from the beginning’ by becoming a “DO-er” of all of Scripture.

Let us begin to truly know Him. Let us begin to hold the ‘sign’ that we know Him — by keeping all His Sabbaths — His Feasts listed in Leviticus 23.

Let us begin to keep His weekly Shabbat (Sabbath).

Let us keep His New Covenant Passover. We thus demonstrate that we believe that He alone is our Life, and that His Life is in us (John 6:53; 1Cor 5:7).

Let us prepare to keep His Passover, which is coming up soon.

Let us not be among those who say, “Lord, Lord” and then later hear, “I never knew you.”

This is but a small part of the Mystery of Iniquity<458> revealed — the uncovering of the mystery of Lord-Lord!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers